Amethi Lok Sabha constituency is in the state of Uttar Pradesh in India. It covers the entire Amethi district and was created in 1967. The seat has almost always been held by the Indian National Congress (INC), save for a half-dozen years in the late 1970s and late 1990s. Rahul Gandhi held the seat for the longest period, from 2004 to 2019, and the seat had also been held by his mother, father, and uncle.

Its first member of parliament (MP) was Vidya Dhar Bajpai of INC, who was reelected in 1971. In the 1977 election, Ravindra Pratap Singh of the Janata Party became its MP. Singh was defeated in 1980 by Sanjay Gandhi of the INC. He died in a plane crash later that year, and a 1981 by-election was won by his brother, Rajiv Gandhi. Gandhi represented the constituency until 1991, when he was assassinated by the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE). The by-election held that year was won by Satish Sharma of the INC, who was reelected in 1996. Sanjay Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) defeated Sharma in the 1998 election. The wife of Rajiv Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, then represented the constituency from 1999 to 2004.[8] She was succeeded by her son Rahul Gandhi. Amethi has thus been represented by four members of the Nehru–Gandhi family. However, this safe congress bastion was breached by Smriti Irani of BJP in 2019 general elections.